top of page
  • Writer's pictureHannah Richburg

Celestial Blood Poetry Contests: "Lungs" Results

Updated: Jun 9, 2019

About Our Poetry Contests


Starting on April 23rd, we have been running two week long contests on Wattpad, posted weekly. We are now on our 7th contest, and will continue to add more as the weeks pass. if you would like to enter one of our contests or read the many talented poet's entries, please check it out here.


Person sinking underwater.

Contest #3 (5/15 - 5/26) - Results


In our second Wattpad contest, we asked poets to submit a poem inspired either by the phrase "Lungs" or by the image above. We received many imaginative and powerful poems. It was a hard choice, but we were able to pick our three favorites!


 

People's Favorite


Third Place

People's Favorite / Third Place - by Tony (@TonyTervin)



Storm is over but I can still feel the thunder


Rumbling in my limbs, torso, making my heart race quicker


Ashy clouds in the sky making me feel under


Rattling unsettling thoughts give me a quiver


Unaware what the future holds


Everything seems out of space


Every feeling seems out of place


Nothing but a fuzzy blur of confusion


Air saturated with despondency


Assimilating what little I have in me


HOPE


Trying so hard to breathe a word to someone


To only end up choking in my own disappointments


Drowning in my misery


Grasping for help


Nobody seems to take notice of my cries and shouts


To relieve me of this trouble


Yet again, am in my own bubble


Disoriented,


Broken soul,


Yearning for the sunlight to wound its way in the mangled spirit


Heal the invisible scars


Wearing me down to the core


Wondering what I even live for.




About: Tony is nineteen years old. He takes poetry to be a form of spilling out what's caged inside of your mind and soul for the world to know.


 

People's Favorite


People's Favorite - "Over" by Riona(@Riodejinerio)



Numb I sit,


In the water so freezing,


As my lungs are lit,


For air, I'm pleading.




They burn,


They're stinging,


I swear to learn,


As my ears are ringing.




"It's over, no more pain."






About: Riona is twelve years old. She started writing poetry to empty her mind through words that aren't just words, they're magic.


 

Second Place


Third Place - "Asthmatic" by Chloe(@Violetxrose1235)



Calm.


Calm, for a moment. Just a moment. The air is still, the senses filled.

It seems endless, a peaceful calm. The silence before the storm. Maybe moments, maybe hours.


It lasts until the first twitch.

Suddenly my breath begins to hitch, my jaw captures as I choke on nothing. Burning inside my throat, my body afloat.

My eyes roll before going hazy.


Distant.


Everything around me seems too crazy, my muscles lock and it gets harder to beat the clock. My life jerks as voices echo for me to return.

I'm lost in the fit, erupting into trembles and quakes my memories could be fake.


Sometimes a moment, maybe an hour.

The shaking doesn't cease but does devour, I hear the voices of alarm try and calm.

I'm struggling now,

breathing seems too far.

My tongue turns blue at the tip as I fight for control in this fit.


My nose fills with scents of another time, something like lime.

I feel my fingers claw around, scratching at the ground.

My heart is racing, my mind obliterating. I feel my lungs about to collapse.


Calm.

The storm has passed. I shake out of my fit and come back to the world I cast.

My seizure has ended.

My life will last.




About: Chloe is seventeen years old. She does art/design and is an aspiring author


 

First Place

First Place - "cyanide" by N.o.v.a (@TheMasterAssassin101)



I bite into this acidic and red apple


only to fall into its clutches and let the fermented crystals


make their way around my veins.


I bet you can see them moving


around and bulging out against my skin.


I stumble upon a glass case, one that entraps me


so that I can face my irreversible fate.


Cyanide gas is now smoking out the confined space,


leaving me to swallow what oxygen I have left.


The dense fog smells like bitter almonds,


and it makes my head do roller coaster loops.


I start to breathe rapidly but my lungs


have given up on me.


I can feel my heart rate getting slower


and I try to rip myself free of these confined rags


but they are attached to me, I can't get them off.


Air is not flowing throughout my gears,


my system is shutting down.


I gape for any sort of breath,


but only end up inhaling the pasty yellow mist.


For a moment, everything is silent,


I can't seem to make a sound.


My mind knows that I'm in my last moments,


but I am overwhelmed by this euphoric feeling.


Finally in the hands of the sweet release of death.




About: N.o.v.a is 15 years old and she started writing poetry about 4 years ago. Please check out her other poetry in her book Neptune.


 

Submit Poetry Today!


Celestial Blood Literary Magazine is currently open for submissions. We love to read all kinds of poetry and appreciate the work you put into creating it. Submissions are free, and we respond with personalized responses within one week. Submit now!


 
36 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page